The Old Philologians Association

Notable Alumni.

Professor Paul Abel, MB, ChB, ChM, FRCS, urologist. Imperial College have created the
Professor Paul Abel Award for Lifetime Achievement in Prostate Cancer.
Adam Ant (Stuart Goddard), pop singer.
Peter Armstrong, Professor of Diagnostic Radiology at St Bartholomew's Hospital from 1989–2005 and President of the Royal College of Radiologists from 1998–2001.
Sir James Ball, Professor of Economics at the London Business School from 1965–97 .
John Barnes England International Footballer.
Steve Barron, film director.
Marshal of the Royal Air Force Sir Michael Beetham CBE DFC AFC..
Barry Blue (Barry Green), pop singer and writer .
Tony Bryant Professor of Informatics at LeedsMet .
Julian Chagrin Actor, film producer and mime artist .
Anastasios Christodoulou CBE, Secretary General of the Association of Commonwealth Universities from 1980–96 .
Robert Clark, Professor of Zoology at Newcastle University from 1966–89.
Edward Cross (1963-71) Barrister and district judge.
Sir Jon Cunliffe Deputy Governor of the Bank of England .
Len Deighton, author .
William Floyd, Head of the Department of Ergonomics and Cybernetics at Loughborough University from 1960 to 1975.
Malcolm Victor Gauntlett Executive Chairman Aston Martin Lagonda from 1981-91 and entrepreneur.
Joseph Giret KC: barrister and Kings Counsel at 3 Paper Buildings, Temple, London and Schoolboy International Rugby player (3 caps).
Benny Green, musician & author.
Sir Leicester Harmsworth, 1st Baronet, Liberal MP for Caithness from 1900–18 and Caithness and Sutherland from 1918–22 .
Robert Hay MBE, Editor of The Gardeners' Chronicle from 1954–64 .
Rt Rev Michael Henley CB, Bishop of St Andrews, Dunkeld and Dunblane from 1995–2004 .
Sir Charles Solomon Henry, 1st Baronet, Liberal MP for Wellington (Shropshire) from 1906–18 and The Wrekin from 1918-9 .
Eric Hobsbawm Historian and author. Companion of Honour. The only Old Philologian to receive such an honour .
Michael Horowitz QC. Barrister & Circuit Judge of Milton Keynes County Court and the Principal Registry Family Division (retired 2013) .
Professor Anthony A. Hyman, FRS - Molecular cell biologist and Director of Max Planck Institute for Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics: Dresden, Germany .
Jerome K Jerome Author of "Three Men in a Boat" and other novels.
David Kinche (1939-44) Senior Israeli Intelligence officer
Mike Lindsay Olympic athletic finalist and 2 Commonwealth games silver medals .
Martyn Lloyd-Jones, preacher and evangelical leader .
Sir Vincent Lloyd-Jones, judge .
Willie Morgan, radio producer and presenter .
Tim Munro, actor .
Patrick O’Brien (Richard Patrick Russ) Novelist at SMGS 1925-26 .
Rt Rev Francis Paget, Bishop of Oxford from 1901–11 .
Sir Michael Pepper, Pender Professor of Nanoelectronics at UCL since 2009 .
Alex Poteliakhoff GP , Campaigner for a more peaceful world. Achieved 100 years of age in 2019.
John Price England cricketer .
Sir Landon Ronald, conductor .
Irving Scholar, Chairman, Tottenham Hotspur Football Club from 1982-91.
Kevin Silber, Head of the Department of Psychology at University of Derby from 2005-10.
David Simone, former President of Arista, Mercury and MCA Records in the UK before moving to the U.S. He was the President of UNI Records, President of Polygram Music Publishing and EVP of Geffen Records.
Arun Singh OBE FRSA, international lawyer and corporate educator.